When Laughter Bubbles-Up

Bubbles 3D

Image via Wikipedia

After a good cry this morning over things outside of my control, a laugh bubbled-up from within that banished the tears.  It came out of nowhere, shifting my focus from the crummy stuff that happens in life to Eternal hope.  Ironic really, it was a spontaneous laugh, which had little to do with joy and more to do with declaration. Don’t know that I would call it holy laughter, though it did remind me of my Hope.

In the midst of this transitional moment, Proverbs 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come”, came to mind (not coincidentally I am certain). I think she laughs in confidence, not because she knows the future or because present circumstances always point to something positive, but because she knows Who holds her future. I suppose that is where the rub is, the unknown can be my undoing as much as the known reality right before me.  Maybe the Proverbs woman airs her confidence with laughter since she knows that strength and dignity are divine, given by God, unaffected by the cares on her shoulders or circumstances at her feet.

Maybe that is where that spontaneous chuckle bubbled-up from—that deep place of trusting the One that holds my future. Being enveloped with divine strength and inherent value will indeed turn dread to delight, lamenting to levity, and gloom to guffaw if we let it.

Today, I let it.

Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, says the Lord, who has compassion on you. (NIV) Isaiah 54:10

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by oldereyes on March 8, 2011 - 1:09 AM

    Judy, I’m glad you found some solace about whatever is going on in your life, and that you took the time to cry, too. So many people want to skip that part. We have very different spiritual approaches. In my world, the only thing that gives me a chance to “laugh at the days to come” is continual conscious contact with God, not something that comes naturally but something certainly worth the effort. I think to some extent, you’re saying the same thing. Beautiful post, by the way.

    Bud

    • #2 by Judy on March 8, 2011 - 6:19 AM

      Thanks for the comment, Bud. I have “learned” to cry, to lament, in fact. You are right, few want to go there to allow it to do its work. Continual conscious contact…I like that 🙂

  2. #3 by oldereyes on April 3, 2011 - 11:21 PM

    Hi, Judy … I notice you haven’t been here much but I’m hoping you check your comments. I published a post titled “Googling God” recently that I’d like you to read. I have come across as anti-Christian on occasion without meaning to do so and would like your opinion. The intent was to suggest a respectful dialog between believers and non-believers. Thanks

    Bud

  1. And Then Came The Laughter | Tasithoughts's Weblog
  2. For The Love Of Laughter | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

